Prof. dr. W.J. de Jonge

Main activities
Research, Teaching
Mucosal Immunology, Neurogastroenterology
Focus of research

The group of Wouter de Jonge studies mechanisms of functional gastro-Intestinal disorders and inflammatory bowel diseases (IBD).

-Preclinical research models for IBD, irritable bowel syndrome (IBS), and post-operative ileus (POI)

-Specialized medical nutrition to improve gut epithelial barriers and immunity - in alliance with industrial partners 

-Epigenetic aspects of cell differentiation in the gut in health and disease

-The identification of new drug targets in immune mediated Inflammatory Disease - in alliance with pharma sector

-Epithelial barrier function


link to our group website:



Key publications
  • van de Pavert SA, Olivier BJ, Goverse G, Vondenhoff MF, Greuter M, Beke P, Kusser K, Höpken UE, Lipp M, Niederreither K, Blomhoff R, Sitnik K, Agace WW, Randall TD, de Jonge WJ, Mebius RE, Chemokine CXCL13 is essential for lymph node initiation and is induced by retinoic acid and neuronal stimulation. NAT IMMUNOL 2009;10 (11):1193-1199 [PubMed]
  • The FO, Boeckxstaens GE, Snoek SA, Cash JL, Bennink R, Larosa GJ, van den Wijngaard RM, Greaves DR, de Jonge WJ, Activation of the cholinergic anti-inflammatory pathway ameliorates postoperative ileus in mice. GASTROENTEROLOGY 2007;133 (4):1219-1228 [PubMed]
  • van der Zanden EP, Snoek SA, Heinsbroek SE, Stanisor OI, Verseijden C, Boeckxstaens GE, Peppelenbosch MP, Greaves DR, Gordon S, de Jonge WJ, Vagus nerve activity augments intestinal macrophage phagocytosis via nicotinic acetylcholine receptor alpha4beta2. GASTROENTEROLOGY 2009;137 (3):1029-1039, 1039.e1-4 [PubMed]
  • de Jonge WJ, van der Zanden EP, The FO, Bijlsma MF, van Westerloo DJ, Bennink RJ, Berthoud HR, Uematsu S, Akira S, van den Wijngaard RM, Boeckxstaens GE, Stimulation of the vagus nerve attenuates macrophage activation by activating the Jak2-STAT3 signaling pathway. NAT IMMUNOL 2005;6 (8):844-851 [PubMed]
  • Willemze RA, Luyer MD, Buurman WA, de Jonge WJ, Neural reflex pathways in intestinal inflammation: hypotheses to viable therapy. NAT REV GASTRO HEPAT 2015;12 (6):353-362 [PubMed]
All Publications
Curriculum Vitae

Personal: Wouter J de Jonge, PhD (Eindhoven, Netherlands)


MSc: 1994, Molecular Biology, University Utrecht
Internships:Research Institute for Toxicology, Utrecht; prof A Oppenhuizen
Hubrecht Laboratory, Utrecht; prof AJ Durston
Wageningen University, Wageningen; Dr MC Lans
Doctorate: 2001 Faculty of Medicine, University of Amsterdam


1994-1995 Research Fellow, Department of Human Nutrition, Columbia University, New York, USA.
1995-2000, Doctorate: Implications of arginine deficiency for organ development, Univ of Amsterdam, faculty of Medicine, profs. W.H. Lamers, Univ. Amsterdam; P.B. Soeters, Dep. Surgery, Univ. of Maastricht.
2000-2002 Post doc, Dep. of Gastroenterology, Academic Medical Center, Amsterdam
2002-2006 Assistant Professor, Dep Gastroenterology and Hepatology, Amsterdam
2006-2008 Post Doc, Siamon Gordon laboratory, Sr Dunn School of Pathology, Oxford University, Oxford, UK
2008-2011 Assistant Professor-Principle Investigator, Tytgat Institute for Liver and Intestinal Research, Academic Medical Center, Amsterdam

2012-2013 Associate Professor Tytgat Institute and Dept of Gastroenterology and Hepatology

2013-present-Professor Experimental Neurogastroenterology


Other positions:

Editorial Board Memberships: 2008-present
-World Journal of Gastroenterology
-Inflammation & Allergy - Drug Targets.
-World Journal of Gastrointestinal Pharmacology and Therapeutics (WJGPT).
-Biochimica et Biophysica Acta; Molecular Basis of Disease (guest editorship).
-Current Pharmaceutical Design

-member of the scientific advisory board MLDS

-Coordinator Horizon 2020 program EID EpiMac 2015-2019


Selected Grants/Awards:

2015 Project grant Bioelectronics in inflammatory disease

2015 Horizon 2020 ITN grant "EpiMac" (coordinator)

2012 Research grant Kinases in IBD (GlaxoSmithKline UK)

2010 ASNEMGE Rising Star of Gastroenterology-Award 2010
2008 Dutch Organization for Scientific Research; VIDI-Award “The vagus nerve as a regulator of immune tolerance in the intestinal mucosa"
2008 AMC grant; "epigenetic mechanisms in innate immunity"
2006 -EU Marie Curie, Intra-european Fellowship, "Nervous modulation of macrophage activity and inflammation"
2006 -FEBS Long term fellowship award
2007 -Top Institute Pharma, Neuromodulation of innate immune responses,
2005 -“Maag-Lever-Darm Stichting (05-49):”nicotinic agonists for the treatment of ulcerative colitis”.
2003-5 -NWO/STW grant ‘Identifying novel targets in gastrointestinal motility disorders.

Research programmes

Gastro-Intestinal diseases

The research team focusses on homeostasis of the mucosal immune system of the large and small bowel, and the relation to intestinal barrier function and intestinal microflora.

We also have a special interest in functional bowel motility disturbances due to inflammatory disease.  

 Our clinical interests focuss on the pathogenesis of post-operative ileus, IBS, and IBD

Prof. dr. W.J. de Jonge
Dr. T.B.M. Hakvoort
Dr. J.E. Seppen
Dr. B. Sovran
Dr. A.A. te Velde PhD
Dr. R.M.J. van den Wijngaard

Dr. E. Ferrantelli
Dr. S.E.M. Heinsbroek PhD
Drs. T.L. Lizama Gabriel

PhD Students
M.A.J. Becker
Drs. S. Botschuijver
Drs. D.J. Brinkman MD (Catharina Ziekenhuis, Eindhoven)
H.J. Chen MD
Drs. S.A. van Diest
A.M.I.M. Elfiky
M. Ghiboub
I.L. Hageman MSc
A.S. ten Hove
V.W. Joustra
Drs. M. de Krijger
A.Y.F. Li Yim MSc (GlaxoSmithKline)
R. Luque Martin
Drs. E.G. Peters MD (Catharina Ziekenhuis Eindhoven)
Drs. S. Rahman
I.A.M. van Thiel
Drs. L.C.S. de Vries MD
R.A. Willemze MSc

H.P. van Hamersveld BSc
C. Verseijden BSc (lab technician)
O. Welting MSc

Other research related activities
  • Membership of advisory board / Consultant, EU (European Union Committee)
  • Board of directors / Trustees / Supervisory board, Gut Research BV
  • Membership of advisory board / Consultant, Mead Johnson Nutrition Pediatric Institute
  • Professor of NeuroGastroenterology, University of Bonn
  • Membership of medical or scientific committee, American Gastroenterology Association (AGA), Scientific Council member Microbiome Section AGA
Current research funding
  • AMC
  • European Crohn's and Colitis Organisation-ECCO
  • Europese Unie
  • GlaxoSmithKline Research & Development Ltd.
  • GSK Service Unlimited (CERPS UK, JDE & UK GMS)
  • Life Sciences Health TKI