T.M. de Reijke MD PhD


T.M. de Reijke MD PhD

Medical Specialist
Main activities
Education, Patient care, Research
Focus of research

Uro-oncology (bladder and prostate)

Key publications
  • Sylvester Richard J., Brausi Maurizio A., Kirkels Wim J., Hoeltl Wolfgang, Calais Da Silva Fernando, Powell Philip H., Prescott Stephen, Kirkali Ziya, van de Beek Cees, Gorlia Thierry, de Reijke Theo M. Long-term efficacy results of EORTC genito-urinary group randomized phase 3 study 30911 comparing intravesical instillations of epirubicin, bacillus Calmette-Guérin, and bacillus Calmette-Guérin plus isoniazid in patients with intermediate- and high-risk stage Ta T1 urothelial carcinoma of the bladder European urology 2010;57 (5):766-773 [PubMed]
  • Bolla Michel, de Reijke Theodorus M., van Tienhoven Geertjan, van den Bergh Alphonsus C. M., Oddens Jorg, Poortmans Philip M. P., Gez Eliahu, Kil Paul, Akdas Atif, Soete Guy, Kariakine Oleg, van der Steen-Banasik Elsbietha M., Musat Elena, Piérart Marianne, Mauer Murielle E., Collette Laurence, van den Bergh A. C. M., Oddens J., Poortmans P. M. P., Kil P., van Andel G., van der Steen-Banasik E. M., van de Beek C., Schimmel E., Bolla M., Descotes J. L., Bosset J.-F., Hay M. H., Bachaud J.-M., Maingon P., Courdi A., Barillot I., Carrie C., Rothe-Thomas F., Gez E., Akdas A., Lekili M., Soete G., van Poppel H., Vekemans K., van Houtte P., Verbaeys A., Hoekx L., Kariakine O., Cutajar C. L., Mirimanoff R., Magrini S. M., Busetto M., Bono A., Villa S. Duration of androgen suppression in the treatment of prostate cancer New England journal of medicine 2009;360 (24):2516-2527 [PubMed]
  • Sadri-Ardekani Hooman, Mizrak Sefika C., van Daalen Saskia K. M., Korver Cindy M., Roepers-Gajadien Hermien L., Koruji Morteza, Hovingh Suzanne, de Reijke Theo M., de La Rosette Jean J. M. C. H., van der Veen Fulco, de Rooij Dirk G., Repping Sjoerd, van Pelt Ans M. M. Propagation of Human Spermatogonial Stem Cells In Vitro JAMA 2009;302 (19):2127-2134 [PubMed]
  • Studer Urs E., Whelan Peter, Wimpissinger Florian, Casselman Jacques, de Reijke Theo M., Knönagel Hartmut, Loidl Wolfgang, Isorna Santiago, Sundaram Subramanian K., Collette Laurence Differences in time to disease progression do not predict for cancer-specific survival in patients receiving immediate or deferred androgen-deprivation therapy for prostate cancer: final results of EORTC randomized trial 30891 with 12 years of follow-up European urology 2014;66 (5):829-838 [PubMed]
  • Leyten Gisele H. J. M., Hessels Daphne, Jannink Sander A., Smit Frank P., de Jong Hans, Cornel Erik B., de Reijke Theo M., Vergunst Henk, Kil Paul, Knipscheer Ben C., van Oort Inge M., Mulders Peter F. A., Hulsbergen-van de Kaa Christina A., Schalken Jack A. Prospective multicentre evaluation of PCA3 and TMPRSS2-ERG gene fusions as diagnostic and prognostic urinary biomarkers for prostate cancer European urology 2014;65 (3):534-542 [PubMed]
All Publications
Curriculum Vitae


Born on October 25, 1952. in Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Citizenship: Dutch

Spoken languages: Dutch, English, German, (French)

Professional Address Academic Medical Center
Department of Urology
Meibergrdreef 9
1105 AZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Tel: +31 20 5666004
Fax:+31 20 6919647
e-mail : T.M.deReyke@AMC.UVA.NL


• University
1973 - 1980 Free University, Amsterdam


May 1980-July 1983 General Surgery
Diaconessenhuis Refaja, Dordrecht, The Netherlands
Head: L.N. Nieuwenhuizen

July 1983-July 1986 Onze Lieve Vrouwe Gasthuis,
Amster¬dam. The Netherlands
Head: J.J.M. Bekkers

Academisch Medisch Centrum
Amster¬dam, The Netherlands
Head: Dr. N.F. Dabhoiwala

• Specialist in Urology July 1986
• PhD thesis: Measurable effects of immunotherapy for superficial bladder cancer. 2004


2004 Honorary member of the Polish Urological Association

2005 Honorary member of the Asociatia Romana de Urologie

2006 Fellow of the Board of Urology (FEBU)

2009 - Visiting professorship Postgraduate medical school Warsaw


1986 - Department of Urology Academic Medical Center, Amsterdam


* Nederlandse Vereniging voor Urologie (1986- )
* American Urological Association (1992- )
* European Association of Urology (1994- )
* Deutsche Gesellschaft für Urologie (1993- )
* Society of Endourology (2000- )
* Full member of the European Organization for Research and Treatment of Cancer
* Member of the Disease Orientated Group Pros¬tate Cancer of the EORTC-GU group (1993-1995)
* Chairman of the Training Programme for Dutch Residents in Urology (1996- )
* Secretary Disease Orientated Group Prostate Cancer of the EORTC-GU group (1995-1999)
* Chairman Disease Orientated Group Prostate Cancer of the EORTC-GU group (1999-2005)
* Secretary of the EORTC-GU group (2005-2006)
* Chairman of the EORTC GU group (2006-2009)
* Member EU-ACME (European Urology – Accredited Continuing Medical Education) (2004-2007)
* Chairman “Guideline Prostate cancer in the Netherlands” (2004-2007)
* Member Education Committee European Board of Urology (1998-2001)
* Chairman Examination Committee European Board of Urology (1998-2007)
* Member Examination Committee European Board of Urology (2007- )


• More than 250 communications and lectures
• More than 200 published abstracts
• Eight published book chapters
• More than 95 published articles (in peer reviewed journals)
 23 as first author
 15 as senior author


Research programmes

T.M. de Reijke MD PhD (prostate cancer and bladder cancer daignostics)

A. Meißner MD

PhD Students
G. Kammeijer

Current research funding
  • Astellas Pharma Global Development, Inc.
  • AstraZeneca BV
  • BAYER B.V.
  • Elesta S.r.L.
  • European Association of Urology
  • IQVIA RDS Netherlands B.V.
  • Janssen Cilag B.V.
  • Personeelsproject - Industrie
  • Stichting Cure for Cancer