PhD Publication Awards

The AMC Graduate School presents annual awards for three most outstanding PhD publicications. In the medical sciences, the PhD thesis consists primarily of a series of published scientific papers. The quality, the originality and the impact of the publication, and the input of the PhD candidate in the paper will be taken into account.

PhD Publication 2019 Awards is open for application.

Deadline for application is June 1rst 23:59, 2020.

The AMC Graduate School for Medical Sciences grants three annual awards for publications by PhD candidates in the Academic Medical Center.

The winner of the first prize for ‘Most Outstanding Publication’ receives € 750, the two second prize winners receive € 375 each.


  • The PhD Publication Award is given to the first author of a report on original scientific research, published in a peer reviewed scientific journal in 2019.
  • The research reported in the paper is or will be included in the PhD thesis of the candidate, a thesis defended or to be defended at the University of Amsterdam.
  • The first author of the paper must be registered as an AMC PhD candidate.
  • The candidate is available for the annual Awards Session on 16 June 2020.

To be considered for the Publication 2019 Awards, the first author, co-author or PhD supervisor must submit a PDF version of the publication and a letter of recommendation from an AMC Principal Investigator, in which the quality of the publication is illustrated and in which the relevance, significance and originality of the research are highlighted. (E-pubs and prints are admissible. Manuscripts accepted but not yet published in 2019 are not admissible.)

A jury of experienced AMC scientists will evaluate the submissions and look for quality and originality of the publication, and dedication and independence of the researcher.

Before June 16, 2020 all candidates will receive notification by e-mail from the AMC Graduate School and learn whether they have won.

The winners will be announced and will receive their award at the annual AMC Awards Session.

Publications and recommendation letters must be submitted to: 
J.G.M. Stolwijk
Director AMC Graduate School for Medical Sciences
AMC Room E2-164 
Meibergdreef 9
P.O. Box 22660
1100 DD Amsterdam

For more information: Janine Stolwijk,,
+31 20 - 566 8235.

Winners PhD Publication Awards
PhD Publication 2018 First Prize Sandra van Brunschot, Ivo Hansen
Second Prize Sophie van Lodestijn
PhD Publication 2017 First Prize Eva Ebbing
Second Prize Lucie van den Berg, Fiamma Salerno
PhD Publication 2016 First Prize Bernadette de Bakker
Second Prize Lonneke van Vught, Tsveta Malinova & Yvonne Dorland
PhD Publication 2015 First Prize Steven de Taeye
Second Prize Thomas Eleveld, Remco Molenaar
PhD Publication 2014 First Prize Olvert Berkhemer
Second Prize Sabrine Hemmes, Lisa Vogelpoel
PhD Publication 2013 First Prize Felipe de Sousa e Melo
Second Prize Jochem Bernink, Yuka Mizusawa
PhD Publication 2012 First Prize Malou van den Boogaard
Second Prize Ahmad Amin, Geert Boink
PhD Publication 2011 First Prize Felipe de Sousa e Melo
Second Prize Onno Holleboom, Tim Schuijt
PhD Publication 2010 First Prize Jannet Bakker
Second Prize Felipe de Sousa e Melo, Michiel van der Vlist
PhD Publication 2009 First Prize Hooman Sadri Ardekani
Second Prize Gert van den Berg, Lars Klieverik
PhD Publication 2008 First Prize Louis Vermeulen
Second Prize Shoaib Amin, Yasmin Namavar
PhD Publication 2007 First Prize Hinco Gierman, Sebastiaan Mastenbroek
Second Prize Djuna Cahen
PhD Publication 2006 First Prize Maarten Bijlsma
Second Prize Fedde de Groot, Reinier Boom
PhD Publication 2005 First Prize Godelieve van Bree
Second Prize Marloes Naarding, Ellen Westerhout