PhD Thesis Awards

The AMC Graduate School presents annual awards for three most outstanding PhD theses defended in the Faculty of Medicine at the University of Amsterdam. Nominations can be made by a PhD supervisor and are assessed each year by a panel of judges appointed by the AMC Graduate School Board. The thesis as a whole should make an original and significant contribution to science, and demonstrate clear understanding of the specific thesis topic(s) and the overall field of study.

PhD Thesis 2019 Awards is closed for application.

Deadline for application is June 1rst 23:59, 2020.

The AMC Graduate School for Medical Sciences grants three annual awards for outstanding PhD Theses. The winner of the first prize for ‘Most Outstanding PhD Thesis’ receives € 2.000, the two second prize winners receive € 1.000 each.


  • The PhD Thesis Award 2019 is given for outstanding PhD Theses published and defended in 2019 at the Faculty of Medicine at the University of Amsterdam.
  • The PhD candidate must be registered with the AMC Graduate School.
  • The PhD candidate is available for the annual Awards Session on 16 June 2020.


To be considered for the PhD Thesis Awards 2019, five copies of the PhD Thesis must be submitted before June 1rst 23:59 , together with a letter of recommendation (in English) from the PhD supervisor (promotor), in which the quality of the PhD thesis is illustrated and in which the relevance, significance and originality of the research are highlighted.


A jury of experienced scientists from a range of disciplines in the Amsterdam UMC, location AMC, will independently review all submissions and evaluate the scientific quality, relevance, originality and impact of the research in the thesis and the portfolio, as well as the dedication and independence of the researcher. A shortlist of three nominees is made, based on their rankings, in a jury meeting. The jury decides on the award winner at the Awards Session.


Before 16 June 2020 all candidates will receive notification by e-mail from the AMC Graduate School and learn whether they are nominated. The three nominees will receive further instructions about their presentation at the AMC Awards Session.


At the Awards Session, the three nominees will give a brief oral presentation of the highlights in their PhD research, in no more than 5 minutes. After these three presentations, the jury decides who will win the first prize, based on the quality of the presentation and that of the PhD thesis, and who will win the second prizes. The winners will receive their awards at the annual Awards Session.

PhD Theses and recommendation letters must be submitted to: 
J.G.M. Stolwijk
Director AMC Graduate School for Medical Sciences
AMC Room E2-164
Meibergdreef 9
P.O. Box 22660
1100 DD Amsterdam

For more information: Janine Stolwijk,,
+31 20 566 8235.

Winners PhD Thesis Awards
PhD Thesis 2018 First Prize Bernadette de Bakker
Second Prize Vanessa Harris, Laura Kox, Jouke Bokma
PhD Thesis 2017 First prize Roel Mocking
Second prize Remco Molenaar, Rik Olde Engberink
PhD Thesis 2016 First prize Daniel Korevaar
Second prize Mark Lobatto, Anouk Schrantee
PhD Thesis 2015 First prize Andreas Kremer
Second prize Sabrine Hemmes, Tim van de Hoef
PhD Thesis 2014 First prize Roos Marsman
Second prize Jannie van der Helm, Lieuwe Bos
PhD Thesis 2013 First prize Felipe de Sousa e Melo
Second prize Wout Rohof, Raph Hamers
PhD Thesis 2012 First prize Elsmarieke van der Giessen
Second prize Geert Buijze, Roeland Huijgen
PhD Thesis 2011 First prize Roos Pouw
Second prize Stella Mook, Yasmin Namavar
PhD Thesis 2010 First prize Evelien Bunnik
Second prize Matthijs Brouwer, Louis Vermeulen
PhD Thesis 2009 First prize Joppe Hovius
Second prize Tilly Mommersteeg, Marieke Straver
PhD Thesis 2008 First prize Joost Wiersinga
Second prize Valeria Ramaglia, Job Calis
PhD Thesis 2007 First prize Nuno Alves
Second prize Rosemarijn Renckens, Paul Poyck
PhD Thesis 2006 First prize Sander Tas
Second prize Thomas Oosterhof, Pythia Nieuwkerk
PhD Thesis 2005 First prize Felix Kreier
Onyebuchi Arah, Matthijs Boekholdt